general, lifestyle, parenting

Roadtrip to Manchester

I realised just thismorning that we’re almost at the end of week 4 of the summer holidays! WEEK 4. Crazy. Looking back I feel like we haven’t done all that much, but putting it into perspective and to kind of justify it to myself,  we do a lot with the kids throughout the whole year. We’re out somewhere every Sunday regardless of the weather, so don’t really feel the pressure to have plans for every day over six weeks, or have the funds. Who does?

But my hubby was off last week. He takes two weeks off each summer but breaks them down as two single weeks. We’re strategic. Or rather I am. I figure I can do two weeks on my own no problem, it’s just like the Easter holidays (but minus the chocolate, unfortunately). By week three I’m usually lagging, and needing a bit of daddy support.

Rather than have a big holiday, we have short breaks throughout the year. This give us things to look forward to, an opportunity to unwind as a family, and I just love a roadtrip (and really really really, do not like flying)

So, as always the decision where to go was left up to me. I admit, I can be a bit of a control freak, but this is more because my hubby is rather laid back and happy to have little input in where we go. Although I always run suggestions by him, and this time we decided on Manchester. I then spent probably a whole afternoon deliberating where to stay. City Cenre, half an hour from the City Centre, or about an hour away in a country hotel, which wouldn’t really have even been Manchester.

We went with the city centre. I feel I want to boast for a second and stress that we set off around 9.30 am. I’m NEVER ready for 9.30 in the holidays (unless I’ve made plans to meet a friend. Otherwise I’m a sit in my pjs till lunch time kinda gal), but Andrew cleverly used the suggestion of  a McDonalds breakfast as an incentive. I have a feeling he will use this every time we go away, now

We arrived in Manchester City Centre after just under 4 hours travelling. We then spent around another hour figuring out how to get into the damn carpark. Andrew eventually resorted to popping into a local pub to use the toilet  ask the barman for help. He explained it’s a nightmare at the minute with roadworks and advised us to find another. So we did. Then we had a bit of an issue buying a parking ticket as it could be done over the phone only. Which would’ve been fine had we been able to find the ‘location number’ to enter into the automated phone system. We gave up and found another. Then had a 7 minute walk to our hotel (using google maps)

We then made our way to our rooms to sit back after the long journey, and relax. Only joking, we had a right muck on checking in having brought no photo ID with us (never been asked for this before) and I lost my patience with the receptionist when she looked at me with absolute horror that we’d booked a separate room for my son. I gave her ‘the glare’ with a sharp ‘And? Is there a problem’? Seriously though, he turned 18 on the sunday after we returned home.

Anwayay, after around another hour,  we finally made our way to our rooms. They weren’t the best, but fine for a couple of nights and a reminder that I really need to check out Tripadvisor first.

36

We felt we really could do with a swim, so got kitted out in our swim gear, and the kids waddled down the corridors with arm bands over their clothes and goggles on,

2to be told children could only use the pool up unitl 5pm. It was 4.45.

So we had little options other than to check out the city centre instead. We thougt a Chinese buffet for tea would be nice, but the kids insisted on chicken nuggets and chips. Cue our second trip to McDonalds of the day for them, then a Chinese for us. However, they then thought they quite liked the look of Chinese too, and I think one of the waiters clocked me giving Emily some prawn toast. Although she was pretty vocal and drew attention to our table stating rather loudly ‘oh that food looks YUMMY. I wish I could have some’.

 

 

 

Obviously I had to try a cocktail, and Emily showed signs that she is going to be a bit of a party girl by asking if kids could have cocktails too.

man3

We then made our way back to the hotel, picking up a load of leafltes from reception for more ideas what to do the following day

bf After breakfast, we headed to Gullivers World in Warrington. We’d never took the girls to a theme park before, so this would be something different for us all. I wished I’d knew of Guillivers World earlier as it also has a hotel with themed rooms which looked amazing. and the girls would’ve loved a night there. But we were staying in a hotel which I am convinced smelt of illegal substances, had the smallest tv known to man on the wall and a Jacuzzi bath which didn’t work, so it was all good

We spent a full day there, arriving at 11 and leaving around 4.30. It’s a great place to go for kids from between the ages of 2 – 13. I was really worried surprised when the girls asked to go on the wooden rollercoaster. Obviously myself and Andrew had to go on with them, and it was fast. Really fast. The kids loved it, we actually really did too and a must if you visit.

32

We also got thoroughly soaked on one of the water rides, but luckily the sun was out and we dried in no time. Only for Andrew and the girls to get soaked again on the Log Flume, which I found amusing.

26.jpg

After about 5 hours in the theme park, we made our way back into Manchester. And we even managed to get lost walking back from the car park to the hotel, again.

 

After a quick change, Turtle Bay was my our choice of place to dine that night, and it was just amazing. We were literally spoilt for choice with a menu of Carribean food. I was however, gutted we’d just missed the 2 for 1 cocktail off. Didn’t stop me ordering a few though

Along with Garlic and Chili Pit Prawns and a Garlic and Herb Flat bread which we all shared, then a main of a Jerk ‘n’ Pull Pork Bun

Then we made our way to Gino Gelatos for ice cream and the most delicious Oreo Waffle.

8 So if you’re planning a trip to Manchester, you have to visit Ginos. To.die.for

37And no, my hubby will not thank me for this pic

man710

So after an early rise for a morning for a swim in the pool and use of the steam room and spa, that wrapped up out trip to Manchester.

man

But one more thing. No matter how many hotels we visit, or how many gyms and leisure centres I go to. I just can not get my head around communal changing.

This hotel went one step further with a windowed shower. No curtain, just a big pane of glass. I showered in my costume and changed in the toilets.

We’re on our travels again in the last week of the holidays. We chose the last week for Andrews second weeks as presumably I’ll be demented by then. We’re off to Bath to visit family and we have lots of days out planned, and I am so happy to see there is a Turtle Bay in Bath.

Leave a Reply

