general

Why I use social media to talk so openly about mental health

#worldmentalhealthday

Louise Sharp

Over the past few years I have made no secret of Jessicas condition, and both spoken and wrote about it quite openly. Over the past few months I have started to do this about mental health conditions which affect my life, mainly depression and anxiety.  Two of many conditions which are sadly still a taboo making sufferers choose to keep to themselves for fear of being judged, shunned, avoided, or ignored. For some reason, mental illnesses are marginalised, written off as excuses, or completely ignored. I don’t like this so choose to speak openly about anything which affects my life and I want to explain why

I want to challenge stigma, discrimination and negative attitudes to mental health.

One in four people in the UK will suffer from mental health problems in their lifetime, but despite its prevalence, stigma remains one of the biggest challenges that people with mental…

View original post 807 more words

Leave a Reply

