depression, diet, excercise, general, health, health and fitness, lifestyle, mental health, wellbeing

How to make the change

Over the last few months I have realised why I’ve failed to maintain the healthy lifestyle I’ve wanted. The only changes to my life I made in the past, was my diet. But this isn’t about changing your just diet, and needs more of a holistic approach.

I’m finding I’m gradually falling into the healthy lifestyle I want, and a lot of things have happened naturally. My thought process and the way in which I look at food and exercise has changed completely. I’m now in the mindset I’m not investing so much time, effort, and money into exercising, to undo all my hard work with a McDonalds. Rather than I’ve workout out for an hour so I can justify a mars bar.

Listed below are a few tips which I find will help you change your lifestyle. Things which I’ve found myself doing

SET THE RIGHT KIND OF GOALS

I didn’t really make any goals last year. The only goals I could think of were goals such as ‘lose 2lb this week’, or ‘lose 8lb by’ whatever date. I’ve done goals like that in the past when I joined weight watchers, and would spend the whole week worried I wouldn’t achieve my goal set by the leader, or even myself. And felt a failre if I hadn’t.

Make goals more about achievements. Aim to do a charity event in the summer, such as Stampede, or Color Rush, for example. Train for them. Start by running a small distance and increase the distance each week. Set target distances, in a timeframe.

goals

You’ll get a much bigger buzz out taking part in an event, whilst raising money for your chosen charity, than losing a pound in a week. But remember to keep your goals realistic

SWAP POUNDS FOR INCHES

Ditch the scales and concentrate more on your inch loss than weight loss. If you’re working out and eating right, you’re changing shape and no doubt feeling great. Why should it matter what the scales say?

After only a couple of weeks will probably also be noticing change in your confidence, and general mood and be feeling a lot more positive.

inches

CONSIDER PERSONAL TRAINER

Everyones initial concern is the cost. But think of it like this. If you enjoy a takeaway and a few bottles of wine, or beer at the weekend, if you’re getting serious about your health you’ll be cutting those out, why not use the money for a PT instead?

To reduce the cost, train with a group of friends. The more of you there is, the cheaper the cost per person.

I know it’s cheaper to join a gym, but without someone there to push, motivate and support you, are you really getting a full workout?

USE SOCIAL MEDIA

Look out for people who use Facebook to talk about health and fitness and either follow or add them, or ‘like’ pages which may inspire you. Share recipe ideas on your timeline, motivational quotes, blogs if you have one.

At the minute with it being New Year my Newsfeed has a lot of people tagging themselves at various gyms or classes, sharing food pics etc, which I’m finding motivational. Do the same as it may be motivating others

Use Instagram to find and share recipes (I’m not too Instagram savvy, I’ve only used it in the past for the filters).

Use twitter to…I don’t know. I don’t like twitter much but I’m sure it can be helpful. Use the #, you can’t go wrong with a # on twitter. It could be useful for finding classes in your area.

It’s strange how you can actually feel support from people just over social media.

JOIN AN EXERCISE CLASS

But don’t just use it for exercise, see it as something fun which you look forward to.

If you can’t get any friends to go along with you, go alone. It may feel daunting at first but you’re there for yourself, not anyone else, so don’t rely on always needing someone else to go along with you.

regret

Talk to and get to know other people in the class. I’ve found this happens naturally and 8 months in and I look forward to seeing some of the girls each week.

Find a class which suits. If you go along to one and don’t enjoy it, don’t be put off, maybe it’s just not the class for you. There’s so many different classes to choose from at the minute, it’s about finding the type of exercise which you enjoy.

MAKE MORE FRIENDS

I know there is a saying keep your circle small. I don’t agree with that. Find and spend time with people who share your interests, support your goals and who bring out the best in you.

friends

The more, the better. It may even be worth re-evaluating your friendships, if someone doesn’t support you or trys to hold you back, are they really a friend?

POSITIVE THINKING

Don’t use the words ‘I can’t’, because you can. If you’re thinking about trying something new, or making a change, do it. We all have the ability to be absolutely whoever we want to be, so don’t be held back by ‘what if’s’ or fears.

best

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

